This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Search Techniques for Online Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Search Techniques for Online Research   Tags: databases, library resources, research  

Helpful hints and tools to produce the most relevant and useful search results
Last Updated: Mar 7, 2014 URL: http://libguides.sit.edu/basicsearch Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 

Related LibGuides

A-Z Database List
by Donald B. Watt - Last Updated Dec 18, 2013
An alphabetical list of both free databases and databases that the library subscribes to. Use the tabs to navigate.
1,075 views this year
RefWorks
by Donald B. Watt - Last Updated Oct 14, 2013
This guide provides information and instructions on how to use RefWorks, a research/citation management tool.
77 views this year
APA Style Guide
by Amanda Scull - Last Updated Mar 7, 2014
217 views this year
Library Services For Remote Users
by April Sommerville, Donald B. Watt - Last Updated Feb 3, 2014
This guide explains services available to all of World Learning's remote users.
285 views this year
 

Conducting Database Research

Most databases have a host of useful tools and resources built into them - if you know how to use them! This guide is designed to help you get started with your search and introduce you to some very basic (but very helpful) research techniques. Remember, patience is important - sometimes it can take several attempts using different tools to get to the results you need.

 

Getting Started

Where should I begin my search?

The "Search Our Databases" page on the Donald B. Watt Library page is a great place to start. It will search multiple databases at once and provide the results in EBSCO. However, if you have a subject specific topic (e.g. science or history), you can browse the subject specific databases on the Databases A-Z page.

What kind of search should I use?
If you are just beginning your research and have not yet formulated your topic, a keyword search in the basic search bar (e.g. "sustainable development") should be enough to get you started. If you have a specific topic in mind, click the Advanced Search option and use the tools within this LibGuide.

Can I use Google?

If you are looking for scholarly articles, we recommend that you begin with our databases. However, you can use GoogleScholar to locate scholarly articles on the Internet. There is a GoogleScholar search box within this LibGuide. You should always use GoogleScholar, as opposed to regular Google, to increase the likelihood of academic search results.

Can I just use an abstract or do I need the full text?

An abstract is a brief summary of an article, usualy less than 200 words. Reading the abstract gives you an idea of whether the article will be helpful to you. It is not meant to replace the reading of the article in its entirety. The full text, usually available in a PDF document, is the entirety of the article, and you should always read the full article before using and citing it as a source.

If an article in a database is available to you in full text, you will see a link to the full text document. If you cannot find the full text of a document, you can often request it through Interlibrary Loan.

Use the LibAnswers box to the right to ask any additional questions that may arise during your research. Most likely, the question has been asked and you will find the answer there. If not, chat with us using the Ask Us tab on the righthand side of your browser or contact the library at library@sit.edu,  and we would be happy to help!

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Amanda Scull
Contact Info
Access Services Librarian
(802)-258-3329
Send Email

LibAnswers

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip